WhatsApp has announced new changes to its messaging app on Tuesday aimed at increasing privacy and giving more control to users.
The new changes at the messaging service, which is owned by Facebook parent Meta Platforms Inc., encompass three features: the ability to leave groups silently, choosing who can see you online and blocking screenshots for view-once messages.
The first feature will allow users to leave group chats without alerting the other members in the chat — only the chat admin will be notified, and the feature will begin rolling out this month, WhatsApp said.
The second feature will also roll out this month and will allow users to choose who can and can’t see when they’re online. The final feature adds an extra layer of protection to view-once messages, allowing users to block screenshots of those messages. This feature, according to WhatsApp, is currently in its testing period and will become available “soon.”
Over the past few years, WhatsApp has been increasing its safety features for users, from protecting calls and messages with end-to-end encryption to two-step verification for security.
“At WhatsApp, Privacy is in our DNA, and we will never stop building new ways to protect your personal conversations,” the announcement read. “We believe messaging and calling should always be as private and secure as having face-to-face conversations.”
Along with the new features, WhatsApp also announced that they will be kicking off a campaign to “educate people about the new features,” though no further details were given.
“We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations,” he wrote. (Today.com)